Money Flu

It seems like every morning,
My head is a supernova,
My wallet tells me ‘get up now,’
I sigh softly ‘I’m hungover.’

My interview at ten,
And a second one at three,
My wallet seems to laugh
as he sits there emptily

I’m jobless and I’m hungry,
My wallet seems to know
As I beg him to do something
I have no coins, no cards, no dough.

Every cliche is an insult,
whilst I’m in this money ditch,
If I had a dollar for every time
I said ‘I’m skint’ I would be rich.

And whilst I mention problems,
I’m sure my wallet would agree,
That cash gives you the money flu,
With lies and trickery.

Seems my headache starts to clear,
finally sober, thinking straight,
interview was a disaster,
my wallet jokes, ‘unlucky mate’

The evening fog is rolling in,
I hear the voices of temptation
And slip out a final five pound note,
to fix my sober situation.

It seems like every morning,
My head is a supernova,
My wallet tells me ‘get up now,’
I sigh softly ‘I’m hungover.’

redandrew23 16/12/2013 – I wrote this a while back though
The backstory – For my english oral I decided to do a bit of creative writing. It’s based on some of Carol Ann Duffy’s poetry. But it rhymes 😀

2 responses to “Money Flu

  1. Pingback: Medicine | Andy Writes Poems

  2. Pingback: Branch | Andy Writes Poems

Tell Me What You Think

