Poet

It seems we poets need defining,
as every poem needs refining,
we refine the finer art,
with stories taken from the heart,
we give our hearts a voice to speak,
but slowly crumble to critique,
we stand up stronger, better yet,
the things once said, we won’t forget,
the words they used were fuelled by hate,
which gives us reason to debate,
what we are
and who are we?
why do we write
our poetry?

~ Andrew
The thoughts of a poet can never be fully explained but every poet has their own story to tell. That’s the beauty of poetry.

Recommended: Ode to Poetry

17 responses to “Poet

  1. Pingback: Never Back Down | Andy Writes Poems

  2. Pingback: Love as I know | Andy Writes Poems

  3. Pingback: Notice | Andy Writes Poems

  4. πŸ˜‰ Then you will be writing for years Andrew. Poetry kept me sane for many many years & even now reading it over helps me alot.
    Reading aloud takes a bit of practice…just a bit. I was shy to read in front of people but I did it anyway & I would let myself get caught up in the poem itself & then reading became easier & easier…

    Liked by 1 person

      • πŸ˜‰ That is what I used to do too! Reading them aloud when editing is a great tool. I bet your voice is lovely. Have you ever recorded yourself? I did this & it helped alot.
        We here ourselves differently from how others here us, as our ears on the sides of our own heads. πŸ˜‰
        I think I sound like Lauren Bacall (an actress b4 your time, lol). She had a sultry deep voice.
        I actually sound more like a 14 year old girl; all squeaky!! So recording myself helped me to learn how to modulate my voice when reading aloud.

        Like

  5. I agree Andrew. Poets have a different way of seeint the world around them. Even when we are angry or upset there is a lyrical quality to the poetry we write.
    Your friend might just see poetry as an archaic ‘art form’. We know poetry is timeless tho’ πŸ˜‰
    Sherri-Ellen

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Forced Rhyme | Andy Writes Poems

    • Absolutely! I feel non poets and poets don’t exactly understand each other at times. For me, I don’t understand why anyone wouldn’t like poetry but my friend on the other hand doesn’t understand why poetry is written, I did kinda write this with him in mind.
      Andrew

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I agree that each poet has a story to tell. I think many non-poets do too. But the difference is that you are talented enough to express your feelings this way. I don’t know if it is good or bad that I can feel your pain many times… Good because you express yourself so well or bad because you have that pain. Thank you for sharing your poetry.

    Liked by 3 people

    • I think my biggest motivation for poetry is from my disappointments in life, but I enjoy creating them and I hope those that do read them are able to enjoy them and one day I would love to be sharing to a wider audience because I think poetry is an amazing way to express feelings.
      Thank you for the kind words
      Andrew πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

Tell Me What You Think

