Put on a Smile

I can’t put on a smile,
I couldn’t find my size,
I’ve told all of my friends,
but there is no compromise.

They say that it’s essential,
it’s like socks and pants they said,
you’ve got to wear a smile,
Like a sandwich wears its bread.
You cannot live without one,
else you’ll shrivel up and die,
the phrase itself ‘to put it on’
suggests that that’s a lie.

I could get a budget smile,
something fake to masquerade,
like cheap perfume which fills the room
the novelty will fade.
A smile worn as cover,
covers nothing but your face,
there is nothing like euphoria,
falseย pretence can’t replace.

True joy is found, through what you do,
regardless of appearance,
be honest with the ones you love
stop social interference.

They stitch you back together,
when you’ve fallen and you’re down,
don’t force a smile,
all the while,
holding back your frown.

~ Andrew

Cheer up, but don’t fake it. I’m a miserable little git 99% of the time so when I’m smiling it’s usually because I associate you with nice things or because I hate you and you are suffering ๐Ÿ˜‰ (Sarcasm guys, not a sadist). I figure Yolo links to this because it’s about society and stuff. Anyway, I have a greater emotional capacity than a lot of people it seems, mostly through writing poetry, but sometimes I get carried away and my emotions become conflicted, almost faked to fit the occasion, hence why I wrote this, too much society and not enough me.

13 responses to “Put on a Smile

  1. Pingback: Yes | Andy Writes Poems

  2. Pingback: Lie with me | Andy Writes Poems

  3. I think you will have LOTS to ‘say’ for years to come Andrew….
    And that poetry slam close by sounds excellent!! I say “Go for it!!!”
    I only wish I could be there in person…..
    Sherri-Ellen

    Like

  4. Your poetry is so refreshing & so REAL. Most of the writing these days is so ‘out there’ & for me makes no sense. Your poetry makes sense & I can relate to it 150%. Even tho I am old enough to be your Grandmother I can relate to every word you write. There is something magical about a good poem!
    Thank you for sharing yours & please continue….
    Sherri-Ellen

    Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you, hopefully I don’t run out of things to talk about ๐Ÿ™‚
        I do intend to go around and spread spoken word so others can get into poetry (as sad as that sounds) but I’m still waiting on a good time to go to a Poetry Slam (though I’ve found a good one near me that’s fairly small and quaint)
        Andrew

        Liked by 1 person

  5. ๐Ÿ™‚ <—-yes I AM smiling!! A genuine smile Andrew. This poem ROCKS!
    I smile when I am happy & content & when I see someone I truly like (or love). I agree about this 'putting on a happy face'…
    I am incapable of putting on a 'false face' as the Iroquois Aboriginal call it. What you see is what you get ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Sherri-Ellen

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! A lot of my poetry comes from my personality and smiling just doesn’t feature very often but hearing all the kind things you have to say about my poetry easily brings a huge smile to my face. All the nice things I hear from people who’ve read my poetry is what keeps me sharing it ๐Ÿ™‚
      Andrew

      Liked by 1 person

Tell Me What You Think

