I’m not your mistake so please don’t correct me

I’m not your mistake,
so please don’t correct me,
infect me with lies,
cut my life from existence,
your obsessive, relentless,
perfected persistence.
I’m not your mistake,
put your rubber away,
I won’t be erased,
by the truth of today.

I’m not your mistake,
I’m not your correction,
I’m not the wrong answer,
but I’m far from perfection.

I’m not your mistake,
so don’t break me in rage
don’t crush me,
I’m not just the words on the page,
I’m not your mistake
so don’t judge me like art,
after all, it’s from failing,
that improving can start,
I’m not your mistake,
so please don’t correct me,
I respect that you’re trying,
but you can’t redirect me.

~ Andrew
If I’m gonna screw up, I’m pretty good at doing that myself. Just want to be able to be my own mess up. I thought I’d bring up Pigeons as it’s very old and still reminds me of what life used to be full of, just jealousy and hatred.

7 responses to “I’m not your mistake so please don’t correct me

  1. Maybe your phase will take longer than other people. These measurements to me are subjective. You are a unique person & how you live & respond to it emotionally has a HUGE effect on how you feel.
    I can say that daily I cycle thru many emotions. We are not static beings. We can laugh & cry & be angry & forgive someone & be silly & be serious all in the span of 16-18 hours….
    I have worked onn controlling my emotions for years now. Some days are good & some not so great but i ‘own’ my feelings now!
    Sherri-Ellen

    Like

      • Well put….we are a ‘mess of thoughts’….you are right!
        The ‘mess’ I wrestled with for many years was being told I WAS A MISTAKE! there is nothing worse for a child/teen to hear then that….
        Words can heal & words can scar for life….
        I had to get counselling for that one. Even at this point in my Life there are moments I still ‘feel’ like a ‘mistake’…..but feelings are unreliable (so the counsellor told me)….
        Sherri-Ellen

        Liked by 1 person

Tell Me What You Think

