Vending Machine

Metal coils,
The spoils of pleasure
and handfuls of change,
coins, cold in my palm.
Feeding the beast,
as I ponder my feast.

Chocolate,
raining from metal skies,
a box of decisions,
a cupboard of lies.
Desire, overcoming
sense as cents rain down
in pitter-patter motion
a wave to drown
in sweet delights
I’m forever keen,
for a little bite
at a vending machine.

~ Andrew
Food and poetry, the best combination sometimes. If you like this then Food for Thought will be right up your street, I didn’t write about food before that and it has definitely given me something less sinister or emotional to write about.
Also I realise I mention ‘cents’ and that is a little odd given that I’m British but I figured ‘sense as pence rain down’ doesn’t really sound right, cheating the cultural differences a little šŸ™‚ Hope you enjoyed!

10 responses to “Vending Machine

  1. Pingback: Side Order of Sympathy | Andy Writes Poems

  2. Pingback: Ring-Tone | Andy Writes Poems

  3. Waht a cool poem!! You captured the relationship many of us have with those beasts, hahaha!!!
    And chocolate…well we all know how much girls like; no LOVE choclate!!!
    I noticed you wrote cents instead of pence….lol…
    Sherri-Ellen T-D.

    Liked by 1 person

Tell Me What You Think

