Broken Hearts and Body Parts

You cannot see a broken heart,
you cannot see a beaten brain,
you cannot see a mental breakdown,
but you damn well feel the pain.

Just because you cannot see it,
doesn’t mean it isn’t there,
and I believe in freedom,
a life where all is fair.

But like a heart that’s broken,
society can’t see,
that I’m the same as everyone,
you’re all the same as me.

Deep down we’ve all been lonely,
inside we’ve felt regret,
so how can you ignore them?
How could you forget?

The pain is always present,
it’s a fractured state of mind,
But we can help repair it,
we’re generous and kind.

All broken hearts and body parts,
deserve the same attention,
it’s not about the suffering,
more so the pain prevention.

~ Andrew

People suffer from severe mental disorders and no one bats an eyelid but if you break your arm you’ve got a cast to prove it and everyone gives you sympathy. This isn’t going to change that but I hope if you’ve read this you’ll look out for the people who are suffering.
I’m going to leave this for you: A Message to the Depressed
It’s an amazing take on how we should be helping those who aren’t mentally healthy. It’s not something I’ve written but I cannot begin to describe how much watching this video changed me.

29 responses to “Broken Hearts and Body Parts

  1. 😉 welcome to the ‘2nd Chancers’ Club Andrew! I have done this time & again. It has paid off in approx 20% of the people I gave a 2nd chance to. I have been known to give 3rd chances to spouses or boyfriends. That worked out less well, lol..
    The one good thing about giving 2nd chances is being able to forgive the person who wronged us. I beleive in 2nd chances as I have made mistakes & if a friend of spouse gives me a 2nd chance I work my A$$ off to make things right.
    So i will always give a 2nd chance but not a 3rd…..Life is too short to be made a fool of 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am shy also andrew. I learned thru out my Home Care & Nursing career to just ask, “Can I help you in some way?” was the easiest way for me to ask. That gave the person the ability to say ‘Yes’ or ‘No’. if yes they could then tell me what they needed. I do that to this day. Keep it simple.
    If a person refuses assistance I say “I am here if you need me” & leave it at that.
    I do not get stressed out nor does the other person. ;0

    Liked by 1 person

    • When I did work experience on the shop floor I discovered some people are approachable and others expect you to be some kind of deity with the power to import any item immediately, helped me open up a bit but I’m still scared of people

      Liked by 1 person

      • Some people are reasonable & some are so-o full of themselves in other words…there is nothing you can do for the 2nd kind of people. I can understand why you are ‘scared’ of people. I still have a certain amount of ‘fear’ at my advanced age…it has lessened over the eyars but certain people seem to trigger me. I have learned not to fret over it & to avoid anyone that ‘disturbs’ me THAT much…

        Liked by 1 person

      • I avoid a lot of people, mostly the people I’ve had bad experiences with, but I’m a sucker for 2nd chances, if someone apologises and tries to make it work I’ll put myself out for them again, and almost always be shot down in doing so

        Liked by 1 person

  3. 😉 the real world….that made me chuckle Andrew. I know what you mean tho’. Trust me helping someone get on or off a bus; holding a door open; giving someone 50 p so they can afford the milk (or whatever) they need; smiling & saying ‘Hello’ all these things will make the real world a much better place.
    And I KNOW you will do all that & more!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve let people push past me in queues before, some ask and some just do it, whenever someone pushes in front and everyone notices I like to audibly announce, ‘oh of course, after you.’
      If I’m being polite I don’t expect to be treated the way some people treat me

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh Andrew I relate! there are days when I just let people push ahead & then there are days when I centre them out in front of everyone! I have NEVER pushed intoa queue so I would like fo rpeople to NOT do it to me.
        There are people who I can see look harried & I let them go ahead of me & I always get a grateful “Thank You so much….”
        So it kind of evens out…. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I hope you & others can do this for future generations. I see this world getting worse instead of better in alot of ways.
    Manners seem to have gone out the window. Empathy is dead.
    Somehow we have to bring some ‘old’ calues back…
    Instill self esteem in the children up & coming… I have high hopes it appears!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ll try to make common courtesy common again, I don’t expect all the old ways to survive but simply being kind and holding the door open or stalling on the bus so someone running for it can catch it, little things that brighten other people’s days

      Liked by 1 person

      • 🙂 That is good to hear! I still hold doors open for the elderly or someone carrying parcels or a baby. I say “Hello” & 🙂 to elderly people also.
        I used to give up my seat on the bus when I was steady on my feet….
        I compliment people; tell the check-out girl not to rush; thank the person who pens the door for me. Little kindnesses go a long way for sure Andrew!!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • A little kindness can completely change someone’s day, I remember all the little things throughout the day that people have done and use that as a way to keep myself smiling.
        Once I get into the real world hopefully I’ll be able to brighten people’s days in as many ways as possible

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Texting would be a good way to keep in touch thru a difficult time.
    I find when I am depressed it can be difficult to actually talk….
    Modern technology is really quite miraculous.
    And yes it would be great if there were more people like the bloke in the video.
    People tend to shy away from a depressed person because they do not know what to say or do & they feel it might be contagious…. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I realise now that when I was struggling I pushed people away, the difference was that many of them just let me push them away whereas I’d be trying to get closer and see what the problem is (all well and good saying that but in practise it’s not easy)

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think it is natural to push others away when we are suffering. I do too. Do not want to be a burden or a ‘downer’. Trouble is alot of family & friends then do not step foreard to help when I finally ask.
        I try to balance giving a person space & being ‘there’ for them when they need/want to talk or hang out.
        I think you are brilliant in your approach also…you are a VERY empathetic young man Andrew 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • The biggest issue I have when trying to help others is that I’m shy, so if someone gives me the impression they don’t want me around I tend to go back into my shell and avoid upsetting them, I’d love to break that shyness and be there for the people I care about though 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. A broken body is always easier to recover from than mental issues. I have friends who have MH problems and the one thing I avoid is the suck it up attitude that is everyone’s worst nightmare. I wish I could give others what I have in mental happiness but I would never belittle anyone who fights issues.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. AWESOME video Andrew…i was in tears by the halfway point!! This bloke is ‘righ on’ how he describes Depression & how it feels & how people react.
    I wish I had a face to face friend like him 😉
    Life would be easier…..so much easier…

    Liked by 1 person

      • Same here..i was not sure if it was a poem or a form of rap or prose but I did not care, lol..
        When he talked about staying with the person & doing what they wanted or doing nothing & THEY would walk out into the world together I was in tears…
        Wouldn’t it be FAB if everyone of us who has Depression had a friend like that bloke in our lives???? 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • It would be nice if everyone took after him too, I remember last year I offered to spend all day with a friend who was upset, they declined but we spoke all day via text and I was able to be there in a modern sense

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Once again you have written a thought provoking & poignant poem Andrew!
    I have suffered with clinical Depression since I was 15 (so many years now). You are right that people will fuss over me if I have a PHYSICAL health issue but if I say I am depressed they run a mile.
    My ex-fiance has a severe mental health condition & I stuck by him until he went over the edge. (Assaulted me & ended up in jail).
    He did his time & counselling & probation & we had limited phone contact after 1st year & then supervised meetings in 2nd year. We were able to sort things out & we remained good friends. Most people still view J as the ‘crazy man who almost killed me’ but that is not who he truly is.
    I have a friend in building here with mental health problem & he says my friendship has pulled him thru alot. Most people are scared of him. He is NOT violent at all.
    We NEED to break down the walls of prejudice & ignorance but it is not happening fast enough is it???

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thankfully it seems there is more awareness for the issues in society than there was a few years ago. I studied Wilfred Owen who was shell-shocked during the first world war, the idea that someone could experience all the suffering of the battlefield and not be considered affected unless it was physical injury baffled me

      Liked by 1 person

Tell Me What You Think

