Empty Tears

I’m lying awake,
it’s mid afternoon,
my demons are coming,
and they’ll get to me soon,

I have cried empty tears,
through the pain and the sorrow,
to wash away fears,
and the pain of tomorrow,

they’re there at the gate,
but they wear a disguise,
they want me to run,
as they chase anguished cries,

but here where I stand,
with my hands poppy red,
as I took the first down,
with a blow to the head,

and then to the second,
I dealt him a hand,
so heavily busted,
that he couldn’t stand,

and finally, third,
the last on the floor,
my demons are vanquished,
as he begs me, ‘No More.’

So these empty tears,
That I cried without meaning,
can wash away tides,
of the blood that needs cleaning.

I fought for my freedom,
In tears I found power,
Rather swallow emotions,
Than let demonsย devour.

~ Andrew

As someone who was bullied this was my mindset at times, I just wanted to deal them a blow so heavy they would go running back to the rock they came from. I don’t condone all violence against bullies (beat them up if they try to beat you up though) I just know what it’s like to want to fight back. Another poem about plaguing demons is Over Your Shoulder

I actually wrote this based on something I wrote 2 years ago so the rhythm may not feel the same way it usually does, not too sure though.

8 responses to “Empty Tears

      • ๐Ÿ˜‰ So far you have provoked many memories; many thoughts….it kind of brought me back to my youth (if that makes sense?)
        As I told you I did not take kindly to bullying…being an awkward little girl who had a ‘odd’ German last name & being Jewish I was a HUGE target!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰
        To this day being Jewish has been a ‘problem’; not for me but for others ๐Ÿ˜‰
        I am proud of my heritage!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Andrew…this is an awesome poem; from the gut….it stirs emotions in us all, as I think we can all relate to this, in one form or another. I really hope you pursue your writing as it expresses emotional depth, feeling, it comes from the heart, it’s not just a bunch of random words you’ve written and tried then to “rhyme” ..it’s your life, your experiences, what you SEE, where you’ve been….the reader can relate…..and yes, the rhythm is awesome too !! Laura

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed the poem, I’m not sure how much I want to pursue writing, but I’ll continue sharing my work with the world because if I can provoke a thought or put a smile on someone’s face, that’s good enough for me to keep going ๐Ÿ™‚
      Andrew

      Liked by 1 person

Tell Me What You Think

