The World Among The Waking

Tense bones,
Ease into the day,
like a foot into socks,

My stiff neck cricks,
and clicks into place
ready to carry my head
another day.

The numbing anaesthetic
of a glorious night’s sleep,
is heaven in the making,
I fall into reality,
the world, among the waking.

~ Andrew
How waking up feels to me, I don’t need much sleep but I can lie awake in bed for an hour after waking up because I’m very lazy sometimes. Today I’d like to recommend Intim(id)ate which was my first poem this year, I hope you enjoy it πŸ™‚

14 responses to “The World Among The Waking

  1. I was raised on Classical & Symphony music in the 50’s & 60’s. Also listened to Nat King Cole….the crooners as they were called.
    Then The Beatles appeared & I was enthralled…..I only had AM radio until I was late teenager & THEN I got a REAL stereo & discovered ROCK!! All kinds of ROCK!!!!
    My Father used to say his Symphony music was old fashioned Rock music, hahaha!!!
    I adored the 70’s & 80’s for the music….even disco…
    I loved to go dancing….
    Music has changed so much in the 2000’s. I do not like the pop sort of rap sort of dance stuff that makes a person cringe…..
    I look for ROCK music…
    Mind you I love Reggae too….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree Andrew. Lyrics are amazng; like poetry & sometimes come from the most unlikely places.
    Have you ever heard of the band Shinedown? I stumbled on them & this song just dazzles my mind every time I hear it.
    Link below:

    The lead singer sang with Apocalyptica….. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Shinedown are a fantastic band and I absolutely love them! πŸ™‚ I have also heard of Apocolyptia also sang with Adam Gontier (previous lead singer of Three Days Grace), that’s definitely my favourite area of music right there πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Most people I know aren’t into that sort of music either, it’s very ’10 years ago’ which is where a lot of my enjoyment comes from, I love the early 2000’s for the rock music that was big at the time, prefer it to the music of today that makes it in the charts honestly

        Liked by 1 person

  3. LOL about doing things at 4 A.M.; might not make you popular with the family!
    I actually am a night person & had to learn how to become a day person.
    As we are speaking of 4 A.M. I wanted to share a song with you:

    This song is by Bachman-Turner overdrive from Canada (1973). This was my Tow Trucking song…
    There REALLY is soemthing mystical about this time of morning πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

      • LOL took me years to tranistion back to being a ‘day’ person. I still have troulbe staying asleep at night.
        I did not think the song was your style; it is not mine either…it we the lyrics that got me all those years ago. There is a whole other culture out there between 11pm-7am working away while most of the world sleeps πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      • I guess lyrically any song can be meaningful, I’ve found a few raps to be incredibly profound and worthwhile because of the message they carry, the same way Spoken Word carries a message, I didn’t like rap before but I appreciate the lyrical depth that a few (a select few) may have

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my I could relate to this poem Andrew..how could you be crinkling & creaking already?? πŸ˜‰
    Like you when I first wake up I just like to stay there for a few minutes before the day starts….just relishing the moment…..
    Thank you for this poem; it is a gift…
    Sherri-Ellen

    Liked by 1 person

      • 4 A.M. I used to be up at that time when I was working Tow Truck Dispatch or on call Towing 24/7.
        Now I never see 4 A.M. unless I have a nature’s call, lol….
        Do you HAVE to get up at that unGodly hour??? πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      • I woke up at 4 o clock this morning as it happens, haven’t seen the world so quiet in a long time, it’s quite nice but I can’t do the things I normally would that early because people would tell me to shut up and go back to sleep :p

        Liked by 1 person

Tell Me What You Think

