Hello and Welcome, Goodbye

As quickly,
As it started,
it’s over,
Departed,
like,
hello and welcome,
opens arms
and compassion,
but sticking around,
has gone out of fashion.
Like,
traditional,
perfect,
utopian dreams,
ripped like a sweater,
torn to the seams,
and just as quickly,
as time can fly,
hello and welcome,
and yet, goodbye.

~ Andrew

I may be on a break but inspiration still hits like a truck when it hurts. I’ll be doing a few poems in the next few days because to me, poetry is an aspirin that can we taken in small doses or you can completely lose yourself in it.

6 responses to “Hello and Welcome, Goodbye

    • I’ve recently experienced what it’s like to have someone come and go in a short period of time, it hurts but it’s best to imagine they were just a brief collision to show you how to develop as a person
      Andrew

      Liked by 1 person

      • Three is a poem called “A Reason, A Season or a Lifetime”. I use it when people come & go. i find some people are in my life for 1 specific reason>>to learn something or help me develop (as you said) or a season so they are in my life for 2-5 yrs. And then there are those people who follow us thru thick an thin: the lifetime friends!!!
        On a sidenote, a boyfriend from the early 90’s looked me up on Facebook. I have been trying to locate him for 3 yrs now…it is great to know Tim is alive & well. He was a ‘season’…..a lovely one at that 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Andrew…..you hit the nail on the head with this one; excellent verse today. here’s hoping the inspiration for your future work comes from the heart as well, but in a “good way”. writing in any form is a catharsis; much like drawing, painting, singing….even as asinine as my blog is …it’s a catharsis 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • This just rolled out like I’d already rehearsed it 50 times before because I knew exactly what to write, there was no pause to perfect it, for once I just wrote it in one and honestly I feel a lot better for having it off my chest

      Like

Tell Me What You Think

