The Wounds You Never Saw

I came home,
with bruises I hid like lies
rather than say,
surprise,
here’s one they made earlier.

I smile,
because at least at home,
I’m a little less intimate with walls.
A little less familiar with brickwork
from an inch away.

And in the medicine cupboard,
there are no plasters
to stitch up my fractured confidence,
no pain killers to kill the pain
of facing society
and feigning bliss.

This is the wound
you never saw.

This is the tear soaked table
head in hands
unable to smile.

This is the concrete kissing
grazed arms and ego
Battered boy you watched fall.

This is the one missed call.

The dial tone beeping,
late nights sleeping alone
the echoing voices
the words that were thrown

the bullets that bullies,
could fire at will,
the gaps in affection
that hatred would fill

This is the wound
that never surfaced.

Because thick skin
and a grin
is enough to sell a lie.

Because even when you try
to scream
your voice is muffled
by sorrow’s stream

and choking tears
sung lullabies,
as pillows heard
the muffled cries.

This is the scar
that I’m still wearing
and to this day
the world is staring

~ Andrew
I felt inspired to write this to reflect on the bullying that I experienced because no matter how much stronger I become there is still a mark on my past that follows me day by day.

6 responses to “The Wounds You Never Saw

  1. Bless you Andrew…..this is a brave & haunting poem. In my day it was not called ‘anything’. I used to be picked on for being Jewish; for being Aboriginal; for being raised by my Grandparents; for being different……
    I learned how to physically fight & I did most days….fighting with children twice my size.
    In Grade 6 I fought the biggest lad & I beat him up good. I did it in the street beside the school. That way I could not get in trouble for fighting on school grounds. πŸ˜‰
    Alto’ I was reprimanded by the Principal, my Teacher stood up for me & said I did the right thing! And no one ever laid a finger on me after that……
    It was awful to have to fight tho’. I just wanted a peaceful life…..and you are right the scars are still there. The one thing that helps is time & healing……
    Sherri-Ellen (been there & done that….)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Any of us who have been bullied carry scars but as you get older you will grow beyond those who were scared of you. There are people out there you can talk to who have those scars but will tell you stories that make you realise that no matter how alone you feel you are in it with many others who will be there for you.

    Like

Tell Me What You Think

