Kissing: And Other Refined Arts

Step by step,
mind racing as I try to remember
everything I’ve ever read,
every film I’ve ever seen.

It’s like riding a bike,
but I’ve never ridden this bike before.
Unsure, uncertain, unprepared.
I try to be calm but deep down I am scared.

I think she saw the anxiety in my eyes
as time slows
she slows
and I breathe.

Even in slow motion I can feel my heart pounding
thump, thump, thump.
Our lips meet
thumping faster, faster, faster
she begins to retreat.

Did I make a mistake?
Can I try it again?
So many questions
yet her smile gives me all the answers I need.
I was trapped in my doubts
but at last I am freed.

~ Andrew
I’ve been hiding under a rock for a few months but I’m hoping to share a few poems in the coming days. I hope you enjoy them as much as I’ve enjoyed getting back into my writing again

6 responses to “Kissing: And Other Refined Arts

  1. Wonderful items from you, man. I’ve consider your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely excellent.
    I actually like what you’ve received right here,
    really like what you are saying and the way wherein you are saying it.

    You are making it enjoyable and you still care for to stay it smart.
    I can’t wait to learn much more from you. That is really a great website.

    Like

  2. It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I have read this post and if I could I want to
    suggest you some interesting things or tips. Maybe you can write
    next articles referring to this article. I wish to read
    more things about it!

    Like

Tell Me What You Think

