Another Name, Another Number

Another name,
another number,
in a world so rife with sickness
Yet we still don’t understand it
and we don’t know how to fix this.

Just a figure, ever growing
as the world can’t see the issue
calls them cowardly and weak
pass their family some tissues.

“We all have bad days”
“Get over it”
“It’s all inside your head”

It’s not normal to hate living
and to wish that you were dead.

How dare you claim you’ve been there
claim that you’re the better man
this is not a competition
you should help them if you can.

Every year the same old story
someone’s life cut short, dead end,
This is suicide, depression,
not some phase or current trend.

~ Andrew
The recent suicide of Chester Bennington has been on my mind the past few days and whilst I was not a huge Linkin Park fan some of their songs really stuck with me. Over 6000 people in the UK alone committed suicide in the latest statistics for 2015 (6188 to be exact, a further 451 in the Republic of Ireland), that’s almost 20 per day yet we still don’t seem to have enough help available for those suffering

That being said there is help available and I urge anyone reading this that feels they may need help to reach out to one of these numbers
National Suicide Hotline:
UK: 116 123 (Samaritans) – or email jo@samaritans.org
USA: 1-800-273-TALK (8255) – (National Suicide Prevention Helpline)
Rest of the World: Hotlines

4 responses to “Another Name, Another Number

  1. What a touching poem Andrew!!! I was so saddened by Chester’s suicide also. I related to a lot of Linkin Park’s songs.
    And you are right the Depression & Suicide are still not being addressed properly around the world. The stats you present are staggering! I have no idea what Canada’s stats are like but I suspect a lot like UK’s.
    I’m still struggling with my hubby Kevin’s suicide back July 2003. His loss still impacts me to this day. I miss him so much it aches! And I still love him & wish I’d been able to save his life.
    Sherri-Ellen 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • There’s a short spoken piece by Shane Koyczan called ‘152’ which also touches on the staggering numbers of Canadian youths that have considered suicide.
      It’s always hard to move past a loss that big and I can’t imagine what that feels like. Not everyone can be saved, but maybe if enough hands are given the tools to help those in need we’d be able to work on fixing the problem instead of telling people the problem is all in their head.
      Andrew

      Liked by 1 person

      • The number of Aboriginal youth in our country who committ suicide is astronomical & so tragic!!
        It is hard to describe what it feels to survive a loved one’s suicide.
        My aunt Katie committed suicide when she was 61 (1971) & I was 15. I felt like I’d been hit with a brick! (Now I’m 61 & can really feel the impact of what she did!). In 1993 my sister-in-law Trinka committed suicide & my brother found her…we were all so shocked….it was difficult to understand.
        An with hubby Kevin it left me permanently scarred in mind & spirit. I felt like a part of me died with him….
        I AGREE with you!! Totally….
        ((hugs)) Sherri-Ellen

        Like

  2. I have never faced that demon even at the lowest point of my life around 16 years ago. All my friends and family know I have faced other issues and come out the other side. There are people out there that will talk about these issues and not demonise what they don’t know. It is important to reach out to someone who will not judge or comment. The brain dead approach of medicine to throw drugs at the problem doesn’t attack the issue it just papers over the cracks. If you are ever at that point where it is too dark, reach out to someone who wont judge you but will be there for you no matter what others might say.

    The pressure both Chester and Chris Cornell faced to produce top music all the time, we will never understand as we will never have been through it. We should never judge what we don’t understand.

    Like

Tell Me What You Think

